Island Hopping #1- Sifnos

With this post I want to start a series called “island hopping”. As I am half Greek,  I have had the opportunity to visit numerous different islands of Greece. Every time I visit a new one I discover a new side of my country and that makes me really happy. The Greek islands have so much to offer in terms of landscape, beaches, food, people and uniqueness that I would like to share some insights with you.

Today I want to tell you about the island of SIFNOS, which is located in the Western Cyclades. My grandfather was from this island but I only had the chance to visit it last summer and I immediately fell in love with its beauty. It is so different from other islands of the Cyclades and that it what I really liked about it. The center  is not as usual at the port but on the hill. The towns of Apollonia and Artemonas are very cute and comfortable to walk through. You can easily walk from one to the other and enjoy the discovery of the small shops while smelling the flavors coming from bakeries and restaurants.Both villages have a lot of great taverns, some of which I will evoke later. Our hotel was in Apollonia and it is located above the famous bakery of Gerontopoulos, from which you will get breakfast every morning.

In order to discover the island I would recommend renting a car, as it is easier to reach the various attractions of the island. My favorite spot was the village of Kastro. It is located on a hill by the sea and you have a breathtaking view of the sea and the surroundings.  Also it was so nice to walk through the village with its steps and its little paths while cats accompanied you along the way.

Here are some personal recommendations, feel free to ask or add your own ones in the comments,

Enjoy Sifnos!

Beaches to go to: Vathi , Platis Yialos , Faros, Cherronisos

To eat: Kapari ki’ Elia – Apolonia , Perivoli – Artemonas , left restaurant in Cherronissos (unfortunately I can’t find its name, but it servers excellent fresh fish) , for dessert Gerontopoulos is a must! – Apollonia

To stay: Anthousa Hotel – Apollonia , Elies – Vathi

To do: Agios Andreas – archeological site with amazing view , church of Chryssopigi – interesting legend , wind mills of Artemonas , Folk Art museum in Artemonas , church of Poulati (especially on its festive date 15th August)

Sifnos


Leave a Reply

